Spring Sunset

Spending time outdoors in the garden at the end of the day brings me such peace.  I walk slowly around the garden, peering into the different beds, checking for caterpillars, tasting kale leaves and arugula flowers, sticking my fingers into the soil of the seedling beds to make sure they’re moist enough.  I look west and see the sun filtering through the trees.  The light is preciously transient and perfect in that particular moment.  Calmness and satisfaction settles into my bones even though I’ve spent an entire day sitting in front of a computer in an office.  Just a little time in the garden clears it all out of my system at the end of the day.  It feels good to have something beautiful and genuine and good to come home to each day.  It helps me to feel human again.

open lotus garden spring sunset

About Ashley in Open Lotus Garden

Organic and biodynamic gardener, writer/editor, lover of nature, animals, and the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spring Sunset

  1. Nicely said… just imagine not having to leave it for the office any more, the Good Life…

  2. Yes…perhaps I should have added to the last sentence “…until the next morning,” but then it would have been sad. I’m gently holding everything good in my life as sacred right now, until I can I can grow and cultivate those little seeds into my entire life. 🙂

  3. Right on, I will try and do the same.

  4. I stumbled across your blog and it’s really great! Gardening truly is an therapeutic, unique experience.
    I live on a communal-style farm in Missouri, and we are beginning sustainable farming, including a garden, chickens, pigs, and a milk cow. 🙂 Check out our blog!

Leave a Reply

