The Amazing Perennial Peppers

Back when the first frosts were hitting last fall, there were still some lovely pepper plants in their prime in the garden—lush green leaves, lots of fruits, just wonderfully happy plants.  (Go ahead and blame it on me for starting them too late.)  I have a soft spot for my plants, and I’ll readily admit that I can get rather attached to them.  So, rather than leave the peppers outside to succumb to the sting of a fall frost, we dug them up, stuck them into some biggish pots, and put them inside along the south facing windows of the house.

They looked pretty pathetic all winter long, but they never outright died, so I kept watering them and fed them occasionally with compost tea that we made from the contents of the worm bin.  I didn’t expect anything, but I wasn’t ready to leave them for dead.

Lately, the weather here in Atlanta has been glorious, and we’ve moved all the plant starts and the “survivor” peppers back outside.  And wouldn’t you know—the warmer temperatures and an abundance of sunlight has started a pretty amazing process.  The peppers are growing fresh, shiny new leaves, they’re making flowers again, and they’re even putting out new peppers!  So much for thinking of peppers as annuals!

Open Lotus Garden Perennial Pepper

The amazing, perennial thai hot chili pepper!

About Ashley in Open Lotus Garden

Organic and biodynamic gardener, writer/editor, lover of nature, animals, and the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Amazing Perennial Peppers

  1. Wow, rewriting the book on pepper biology? Just one of many revolutionary insights you’ll have to offer the world I’m sure. So synchronously (again!) guess who has just been asked to head-up a new nearby pepper farm? I’m pretty excited about it, I’d like to be able to add Master’s in Pepperology to my “resume”. I could use help though, speaking of which the head farmer-dude asked me again about when my very plant-knowledgeable righteous amiga is visiting since we are in need, apparently another couple interns are scheduled to come in June too, plenty of veganic work to be done. Hopefully you’ll find the pepper operation satisfactory, if not I will humbly submit to your capsaician wisdom.

    • Head pepper farmer! That’s pretty cool. I was reading today that some gardeners use the active component from hot peppers mixed with paraffin wax to spray onto other garden plants to deter pests! For now I’ll be sticking to knocking the cabbage moth larva off the plants into a tin of soapy water, though. (Bad karma, I know…but those little guys are decimating my kale…in no small way.)

  2. I allowed everything in my garden patch to go to seed last year. I expect some unexpected surprises once I get everything tilled and fertilized 🙂

    • Fun! That should yield some very interesting results! I have some “volunteer” dill, a ton of tomatoes in the various garden beds, and a random squash flourishing quite happily in the compost pile. Oftentimes, those tough little seeds we don’t even plan on having are the ones that do the best! Nothing quite like natural selection to improve things. 🙂

Leave a Reply

